Happy 24th Birthday ABTC

I am not sure how this day always sneaks up on me, but it does. It still amazes me that at 24 years, you might think it would feel very routine.  Honestly, I can say it is anything but! 

Everyone that walks in my door is their own adventure. There is no one size fits all category, if you take the time to listen to someone’s story.  No one perceives things the same, so no one will process information the same way.  Every day, I have to remember to drop all the preconceived notions I may have about a diagnosis. People are never their diagnosis.  Together, we can accomplish bigger things than we could have on our own.

If I already have the solution to your problem, I lose the magic of just being curious.  If I see everything as a question, I can inquire and truly listen without getting ahead of myself.  I remember as a new grad that I really liked to have a plan in place so that I knew how my session would play out.  Now I prefer the opposite, I like to go in knowing I have to meet you right where you are.  No expectations.  To let the body reveal itself and act more like a guide through uncharted territory. 

It has been said that a great teacher shows you new possibilities. They make you want to be better at the things you wish to do.  It is really about learning about yourself.  Sometimes you have to remember that you are the one in the driver’s seat of your body.

Thank y’all for being my teachers.

Leave a comment